More on paying to stream

The Wall Street Journal explores the whole online streaming issue in classical music, and raises the point that I still can’t come to a conclusion on: whether it’s legit to be charging for this stuff. Certainly someone needs to be paying the musicians and the people producing these webcasts, but it seems like it could be an exciting market for outreach (which I realize is a terrible and vague word).

But I’ve really fallen for Medici.tv, which I’ve now gotten a hang of and could probably spend an entire night exploring. Part of it is thanks to my oversized performer-crush on Measha Brueggergosman, for whom I would open my wallet in a heartbeat to see live. But paying to watch her online… I doubt it would happen any time soon.

~ by ohactually on August 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
