Boulez on “New” Music

Tom Service quotes Pierre Boulez in a recent Guardian article:

“Audiences follow the orchestra. The problem is that performers say, ‘Oh my God, if I programme Schoenberg, nobody will come’ – and that’s not true. Last year with the Berlin Philharmonic, I played music by Bartók, Schoenberg, Berg and Webern, the literature of before the first world war. And I was told by some people that this was a difficult programme. I say, all these works are composed before 1914. That’s not new. Do you think in 1940 people were saying, ‘My God, Tristan und Isolde is so difficult to listen to,’ 80 years after it was written? The 20th century is famous for being the century of speed, but the speed is not there when it comes to culture, I find.”

~ by ohactually on August 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
