Israel, Gaza and Michelle Obama

Yesterday I spent a good amount of time catching up with the events happening in Gaza. I’m somewhat embarrassed to admit that my weekend happenings kept me quite isolated from the world, but when I went to NPR.org Monday morning to read their coverage I was somewhat amused/confused/discouraged by their front page.

These two articles appeared side by side–the first claiming the most attention with a photo:

Like It Or Not, Michelle Obama Is Now A Style Icon

Israeli Planes Pound Gaza Targets

Now I actually don’t have anything bad to say about NPR’s actual international news coverage. In fact, it’s some of the best.  The juxtaposition of these two stories just got me thinking.

The presidential election engaged so many Americans, and like the rest of the world we actually seemed eager to learn more about this important news story. Everyone was listening to NPR, watching CNN and reading the New York Times (yes, I acknowledge my liberal media tendencies) but when Obama finally sealed the deal what are we interested in? The complicated international crisis that Obama will inherit or the dress that his wife will wear at his Inauguration?

~ by ohactually on December 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
